Exploring Tough Questions About Church

One of my many flaws is my inability to multitask. I’m keenly aware that most men have a hard time multitasking. But in my case, it’s a terminal condition (this is sober autobiography). If you are ever a passenger in an automobile that I’m driving, don’t engage me in a conversation. It may result in me inadvertently taking you to Mexico.

The good side of this shortcoming is that when I do concentrate on something, such as a conversation, I can listen to it on many different levels. So like most human deficiencies, there’s some compensation.

One of the things that I’ve given my concentration to over the years is how an organic church grows, develops, lives, and dies.

My quest for the church after God’s own heart has led me to raise some critical questions on this score. Such as: What are the necessary ingredients that make for a healthy, vibrant church that reflects the Biblical vision of the Body of Christ? Why do so many non-traditional churches dissolve? What are the stages that an organic church will pass through, and what should we know about each one?

If the truth be told, many churches that set out to gather outside traditional church structures have a short shelf life. This has led many people to conclude that being church the way the early Christians were church simply doesn’t work in our day. They’ve concluded that we must have an institutional structure to keep everything afloat.

I’ve grappled with this particular argument in my other volumes, so I won’t rehearse my conclusions here. Instead, I would like to tackle what my journey has taught me regarding the stages of growth for an organic church.

